In this article you will learn:
How to Enable Mirroring Slack Retention
Onna offers a mirror sync for Slack Enterprise that will mirror any retention policy set within your organization's Slack account. If you choose to enable mirror sync, any messages that are removed from Slack due to a retention policy would then be removed from Onna as well, unless that information is under legal hold.
Once enabled, Onna will ensure that all existing Slack Enterprise sources currently on 'Auto-sync and archive' in Onna comply with the retention policies found within Slack. Any messages and attachments that are no longer retained in Slack will not be retained in Onna within 24 hours of their dropping out of Slack. Note: This setting will not apply to Slack Enterprise sources that are on one-time sync.
It is important to know that, in Onna, if the user is an owner of an archive source, and that user is locked, Onna will no longer mirror Slack retention policies for the source. This is due to the locked user no longer being able to delete resources from Onna. New resources will continue to sync into Onna as long the authorization is still valid.
To enable mirroring of Slack retention policies in Onna, follow the steps below:
From your ‘Admin preferences’ page navigate to the ‘Sources’ page.
Once you’re on the sources page:
a. Click the arrow next to ‘Source configuration’. Then,
b. Check the box next to ‘Mirror Slack Enterprise retention settings’
Once you put a check in the box, Onna will start using Slack retention policies to manage your data within Onna, unless that data is included in a preservation or on source hold.